Posted by: Mike James | August 2, 2009

The Mike James Addendum

In 1983, I was 25 years old and was serving my second term as president of the Ocean Beach Merchants Association. My relationship with our Councilman Bill Cleator was sometimes strained, but I think he still respected me.

A city ordinance was to be passed for a test ban of alcohol on all city beaches after 9:00 pm. Thinking this was way too early for my fellow Obcieans, I proposed to our councilman that the beaches in Ocean Beach be allowed to have alcohol until midnight. To my surprise Bill Cleator agreed.

This provision only lasted a couple of years before all beaches had a permanent alcohol ban after 9:00 pm.

For a while though, I was happy to know that you can fight city hall.

Responses

  1. Mike,
    Hey buddy this shit is great, Boy do I remember some! of the bowling nights. Seems like all we ever did was find a reason to have a party.
    Hey, I’m breathing……PARTY!

    Hope all is well with you, I talk to Pat about every 2 months or so. I’m 61 and still hav’in fun.
    Sober 25 years….makes a differance.

    Stay Safe,

    Dominick

    • Howdy Dominick,

      I tried to make this blog about all my experiences in O.B., it seems so far all I’ve written about was the partying. I guess I found those moments the most memorable.

      There comes a time to change our habits otherwise we won’t last. Glad to hear you made the change but still having fun.

      Take Care,
      Mike

      xobdude@yahoo.com

  2. This is great stuff- am passing on link to other interested parties! Seems hard to believe this stuff was so long ago….seems like almost yesterday!

    Shelly 🙂

  3. HeHeheeee I haven’t had a good belly laugh in awhile. Thank you for reminding me of the facts that I had forgotten, or didn’t remember right. This is now BOOKMARKED!


Leave a Reply

Categories

